Driving a few miles over the speed limit is something that many adults are guilty of doing on occasion. Whether you are running late or just used to applying too much pressure to your gas pedal, speeders in Georgia could find themselves facing more than a slap on the wrist if pulled over. In 2010, the state decided to increase the penalties for those who were pulled over for driving at excessive speeds. These “super speeders” often make the mistake of attending their court date with no attorney and are unprepared for repercussions of driving well over the posted speed limit. Understanding why Georgia super speeders need a defense attorney will help you and those close to you deal with the aftermath of being pulled over for super speeding in the state.
Individuals who are new drivers or are just new to driving in Georgia are often confused by the term “super speeder” especially if the phrase is used by an officer issuing a citation. The term is used to describe drivers who are pulled over for driving more than 85 miles per hour on any road in Georgia. It also applies to those who drive more than 75 miles per hour on two-way highways. The law was established to help prevent the loss of life, serious injury, and property damage caused by traffic accidents. Drivers who are traveling at unsafe speeds have less time to react and avoid accidents, so issuing additional penalties to those who are viewed as higher risks is meant to reduce serious motor vehicle accidents throughout the state.
The most tangible and immediately obvious penalty associated with the super speeder laws are the increased fines. A person who is given a citation for violating HB160, commonly referred to as the super speeder law, will receive an additional fine of $200.00 that is added to the fines and fees already assessed by the county where the offense occurred. It is possible to receive a fine of up to $1,000.00, and once guilt is accepted in court or by paying the fine online, the Department of Drivers Services will send a letter containing an additional fine.
In most situations you will have up to 120 days to pay the super speeder fine and fees associated with the original ticket. Once the Department of Drivers Services issues their fine, you have an additional 30 days to pay. Failure to pay your fines and fees results in the suspension of your driver’s license. To have your driver’s license reinstated, an additional fee of $50.00 must be paid online, in person, or by mail.
Paying up to $1,000.00 after being accused of driving 76 miles per hour is more than many people can afford. Failing to pay the fine or attend your court hearing could lead to even more expensive fees along with the loss of your driving privileges. The assistance of a qualified criminal defense attorney could help you avoid these penalties and other potential repercussions that those with previous driving history issues could face. The criminal defense attorneys at the David Bell Law Firm understand how serious losing a driver’s license is. We work with you to determine the best way to avoid excessive penalties that could cause long-term personal and professional issues. Contact us today to schedule a consultation at our Augusta, Georgia location so that we can begin providing you with the legal advice that you need.